Gernot Rohr names the 24-man squad to face Libya

Gernot Rohr (

On Monday, at a press conference, head coach for the Super Eagles Gernot Rohr announced a 24-man squad to face Libya on October 12th. This game will be one of two, as they will be playing back to back games – the second game coming only three days after the first one. Whoever takes more points from this game will have more chance to qualify for next years African Cup of Nations (AFCON).

In the last couple of matches, Rohr has tested some new players from clubs within Nigeria and those outside. John Obi-Mikel is set to miss this game as well. The Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) have tried to persuade him to play in this match, but he refused. Good news for the Super Eagles is that Alex Iwobi, who has been making an impact for Arsenal this season, will be back. He missed the match against Seychelles through illness. Coach Rohr has also recalled Moses Simon and William Ekong. There aren’t any surprises on the list.

All players are set to report to training at the Akwa Ibom State capital on October 8th. The first match will be played in Nigeria on October 12th, at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo, after the Ahmadu Bello Stadium in Kaduna failed the second pitch inspection. As soon as three days after that, on October 15th, the second of the doubleheader will be played in Tunisia, at the Taieb Mhiri Stadium in Sfix.

Gernot Rohr (

Gernot Rohr (

The Super Eagles need to earn at least four points from these two games to all but guarantee qualification to the AFCON 2019. Coach Rohr and the rest of the team are confident they will be successful and will be going for a win in both matches.

Below you can find the full squad list.


Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain)

Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC)

Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)


Olaoluwa Aina (Torino, Italy)

Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey)

Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)

Chidozie Awaziem (Porto, Portugal)

William Ekong (Udinese, Italy)

Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England)

Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain)

Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany)


Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey)

Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England)

Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England)

John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)


Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr, Saudi Arabia)

Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)

Moses Simon (Levante, Italy)

Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray, Turkey)

Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China)

Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England)

Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux, France)

Isaac Success (Watford, England)

Leave a Reply